Home Pakistan Super League PSL 2016

Pakistan Super League PSL 2016

Islamabad United are the HBL PSL Champions

The Pakistan Super League T20 has been announced and the game is finally on, Habib Bank Limited is being announced as its sponsor for the first 3 years. Cricket might not be Pakistan’s National game but the nation surely is highly passionate about the sport. This time with the announcement of the platform this seems like it is going to make a lasting mark on the cricket of Pakistan. The tickets of Pakistan Super League 2016 are being sold around the globe.

Pakistan Super League PSL 2016

Pakistan Super League

HBL PSL 2016 is the starting of professional T20 cricket alliance in Pakistan. This initiation was awaited for quite some time now and was being in the pipeline but now finally the wait is over and the matches have come to a reality with formation of teams and all pre required formalities.

The idea of Pakistan Super League has been fighting against the security concerns in the country, now finally the matches will be starting 4th February 2016 – 24th February 2016 which is right before the world T 20 series.

The authorities have made each decision considering all the going on events in main cricket. The broadcasting and sale of tickets and everything regarding the event has been properly planned for the execution.

Pakistan Super League Teams (PSL 2016)

Pakistan Super League in its inaugural phase will include five teams; each will be represented by players of a city. This is just the initial initiative the plan is to expand the teams into 10 teams from Pakistan which will compete against each other.

PSL will be played instead of Haier T20 and it is also expected to gather best players from around the world to a single platform and present to the fans with quality cricket. It will have Players who are willing to be part from almost 10 different countries but the representation is from Pakistani players in majority and they will all be represented as Pakistani players collectively.

The tournament will include 80 players which will have 25 rated international players. The winning team will be awarded with $1,00, 000. The five teams represent five cities, Lahore, Karachi, Quetta, Peshawar and Islamabad.

Each team is given the requirement to be allowed 16 players maximum and total 80 players. 55 local players and 25 international players would be participating in the super league. The main importance is given to the level and quality of cricket experienced at the field.

For the next three years Ramiz Raja and former Pakistani team captain Waim Akram are designated to be the brand ambassadors for the tournament. PSL will be using a draft system which will be exactly similar to the system of National Football League in the United States for the recruitment of players. This is totally opposite to the draft followed in T 20 series followed worldwide.

Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Shane Watson, Shahid Afridi, Dwayne Bravo, Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews among others have all given their names for the draft of PSL which will take place later in year 2016.

The tournament would be entirely played in UAE instead on Pakistan. This was confirmed by Pakistan Cricket Board in September 2015. The matches will be played in Dubai and Sharjah cricket stadiums. There were plans to hold the matches in Doha earlier but the plans were canceled and the two grounds mentioned earlier were finalized for the entire tournament.

The cricket Junoonies are impatiently waiting for the start of matches, people have already started supporting teams of their cities. Moreover all you fans can get all the relevant information and updates on this webpage where we are monitoring each latest event and updating our followers before anyone else.

Pakistan Super League Links